Soul-Identity Music on Likwid #020 16/10/16

Weekly Sundays 5pm-7pm (BST) on Likwid London ( Soul-Identity Music. 2 hours of upfront and classic soulful underground music. Show #20 arrives this week and there’s a fresh batch of tunes to enjoy from the likes of Electric Wire Hustle, Manu Delago, Ade Alafia Adio, Raisa Biza and Josef Leimberg, as well as an exclusive drop of a new Emanative remix of Sarathy Korwar in the first hour. In the second hour this week, we dig deep for a vinyl only excursion into the sound of the late 70s / early 80s disco / boogie scene. Plenty of choice cuts from the glory days of the dancefloor! Thanks for listening.

Originally aired Sunday 16th October 2016.


1. Electric Wire Hustle – Go Slow (Bastard Jazz Recordings)
2. James Blake – Timeless (feat Vince Staples) (Polydor)
3. Manu Delago – A Step feat Pete Josef) (Tru Thoughts)
4. Mick Jenkins – Love Robert Horry (feat J-Stock) (Free Nation/Cinematic Music Group)
5. Ade Alafia Adio – Fluid (Offering Recordings)
6. Like – Blah Loops (feat Kali Uchis) (Jakarta Records)
7. Raiza Biza – Strong Woman (AmmoNation)
8. Josef Leimberg – Celestial Vibrations (World Galaxy)
9. Mast – She’s Chasing The Dragon (feat Fresh Cut Orchestra) (Alpha Pup)
10. Anchorsong – Butterflies (Tru Thoughts)
11. Sarathy Korwar – Mawra (Transcendence) (Emanative Remix) (Ninja Tune)
12. The KutiMangoes – Adjoa (Tramp Records)
13. Dennis Bovall – Heaven (Optimo)
14. Reginald Omas Mamode IV – Round N Round (Five Easy Pieces)

15. Cela – I’m In Love (Mike Dunn Da’ House Spot Edit) (White)
16. Ronnie Dyson – All Over Your Face (Cotillon)
17. Brainstorm – Hot For You (Danny Krivit Edit) (Tabu)
18. Keith Barrow – Turn Me Up (Columbia)
19. King Sporty & The Root Rockers – Fire Keep On Burning (Konduko)
20. Stephen Colebrook – Shake Your Chic Behind (Athens of the North)
21. Tasha Thomas – Hot Buttered Boogie (Atlantic)
22. Brenda and The Tabulations – Let’s Go All The Way Down (Danny Krivit Edit) (Casablanca)
23. Eloise Laws – Love Goes Deeper Than That (invicta)
24. Golden Flamingo Orchestra – The Guardian Angel Is Watching Over Us (Golden Flamingo Records)


Yussef Kamaal

Ahead of their debut long player ‘Black Focus’, soon to be hitting the shelves on Brownswood Recordings November 4th, South London’s finest Yussef Kamaal have leaked a further two tracks from the highly anticipated project. After easing us in just a few weeks ago with the truly sublime ‘Yo Chavez’ and the frenetic drum and synth interlude ‘WingTai Drums’, it’s now time for the follow up to take centre stage, and the tracks in question, ‘Lowrider’ and ‘Black Focus’ , certainly don’t disappoint.

‘Lowrider’ is a killer slice of future Jazz fusion, indebted to early 80s Brit funk and the classic Headhunters sound of the mid-Seventies, inasmuch as it is to the broken beat styling of Kaidi Tatham et al. Atmospheric keys and guitar intersperse, while feverish drums propel the track forward.  Meanwhile the title cut ‘Black Focus’ give way to a more contemplative mood all together, as drum, horns and keys combine for a deliciously laid back vibe. Certainly for us November can’t come around quick  enough!

The album ‘Black Focus’ is available to pre-order now via Bandcamp. You can stream selected tracks below.

Ben Sun

Released this week on the ever dependable Delusions of Grandeur imprint, Aussie house master Ben Sun returns with an excellent slice of high tech soul. ‘Glass Waves’ is a particular highlight from a solid three tracker, incorporating shimmering synths and a stuttering drum track to produce an ethereal track that manages to evoke memories of some of the best Chicago house of days gone by. Meanwhile we’re also quite partial to the chugging loveliness that is ‘Star Ritual’ that covers the the over half of the B side on this release. Stream the ‘Glass Waves’ below, and pick up both tracks now on the ‘Tides EP’.

Soul-Identity Music on Likwid #019 02/10/16

Weekly Sundays 5pm-7pm (BST) on Likwid London ( Soul-Identity Music. 2 hours of upfront and classic soulful underground music. Welcome to another Soul-Identity session. This week, we’ve got brand new tracks from Solange, Electric Wire Hustle, Yussef Kamaal and Mick Jenkins in the first hour, while in the second we ‘dig a little’ and drop an hour’s worth of classic and (slightly) obscure disco, boogie and soul sounds straight off the shelves. Thanks for listening.

Originally aired Sunday 2nd October 2016.


1. Solange – Cranes In The Sky
2. MILOUX – Pocket (Jono Das Stolen Cadillac Remix)
3. Mick Jenkins – Drowning (feat BADBADNOTGOOD)
4. Yussef Kamaal – Yo Chavez
5. Anthony Valadez feat Mies Bonny – Fade Away (Prn Remix)
6. Electric Wire Hustle – March featuring Deva Mahal
7. I, Ced – I Am Love (feat Jimetta Rose)
8. Ta’Raach & The Lovelution – Liberations Lullabye
9. Ash Walker – Thunder featuring Lord Laville
10. Blue Lab Beats – Skippy
11. Carmelita – Under The Trees
12. Ted Coleman Band – Due Consideration
13. Ed Watson and his Brass Circle – Roforofo Fight
14. Antônio dos Santos – Stebo Cu Anabela

15. GF And Friends – Body Motion
16. Second Ressurrection – Smoke in The Disco
17. The Bobbettes 81 – Love Rhythm
18. The Final Approach – Que Pasa
19. First Love – Party Lights
20. Candido – Thousand Finger Man
21. Shades of Love – Come And Make Me Feel Good
22. The Young Delegation – Do What The Lord Say Do
23. The New York Community Choir – Make Every Day Count (New Re-mixed Disco Version)
24. Ed Kelly Ensemble – Samba
25. Kaoru Inoue Presents Chari Chari – Aurora


Soul-Identity Music on Likwid #018 25/09/16

Weekly Sundays 5pm-7pm (BST) on Likwid London ( Soul-Identity Music. 2 hours of upfront and classic soulful underground music. This week on the show, there’s a host of great new tracks and remixes from the likes of Mark de Clive-Lowe, Kaidi Tatham, Shabaka Hutchings, Jordan Rakei, Sampology and I,Ced, as well as further explorations of the recent longplayers from Lady Wray and Eddie Moore & The Outer Circle. There’s also a few upfront cuts from Reginald Omas Mamode IV and Jimi Tenor’s respective new projects, and the usual curveballs in the mix reminiscing days gone by! Thanks for listening.

Originally aired Sunday 25th September 2016.


1. Nasambu + Kibrom – Take Your Time
2. Jordan Rakei – Midnight Mischief (Tom Misch Remix)
3. Sampology – Different Star (feat Laneous)
4. I, Ced – Percu
5. Reginald Omas Mamode IV – Talk To Me
6. Joe Hertz – Playing for You
7. Kissey Asplund – Caos
8. Eddie Moore & The Outer Circle – Times A Wastin
9. Ash Walker – Goblins
10. Jimi Tenor – Cap de Creus
11. Thaddeus Nelson Jr – Disco Junky
12. Jestofunk – For Your Precious Love
13. Dalindeo – Slavic Souls

14. Lady Wray – Do It Again
15. John Heartsman & Circles – Mr. Magic (Fryers Edit)
16. Lou Donaldson/Sonny Rollins – It’s Your Thing/Night In Tunisia feat John Robinson (Mark de Clive-Lowe Remix)
17. Nelda Piña y la BOA – Giumbele
18. Alsarah & The Nubatones – 3roos Elneel
19. Bajka – Inivisible Joy
20. Shabaka and the Ancestors – The Observer (feat. Shabaka Hutchings)
21. Kaidi Tatham – The Shadow Ain’t Going Nowhere
22. Ishmael – Doldrums (SoulPhiction Burnin’ Remix)
23. Glenn Underground – Magic (Gherkin Syndrome Mix)
24. Juliet Mendoza – My City
25. Basil – All True (African) (True Flute Mix)